Join CBBS   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
Herbert Perkins & George Garratty Memorial Lectureship

Formerly known as the Herbert Perkins Scientific Lectureship & Award, this award was renamed in 2014 to the Herbert Perkins & George Garratty Memorial Lectureship.  Herbert Perkins was the Senior Medical Scientist at Blood Centers of the Pacific and Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of California San Francisco.  Dr. Perkins' lifetime achievements contributed profoundly to the scientific foundation of the fields of transfusion and transplantation medicine, and to the education and training of scientists, fellows, physicians and medical technologists in these fields.  George Garratty, PhD, FRCPath, was the Scientific Director, American Red Cross Blood Services, Southern California Region, Pomona, CA, and Clinical Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles.  His research was mainly concerned with immune red cell and platelet destruction, with a special emphasis on autoimmune and drug-induced immune hemolytic anemias.  Dr. Garratty served as President of CBBS from 1985-1986 and was the recipient of numerous awards, honors, and recognitions. 

Each year a lectureship is awarded to an individual actively involved in education, training, research and/or the practice of a scientific nature pertaining to transfusion medicine. The recipient will be a scientist who has demonstrated a commitment to transfusion medicine or cellular therapy, and has applied new insights or new technologies to relevant scientific questions that have led to seminal contributions to the field. There is an honorarium and reimbursement for travel and lodging from Blood Systems.

Herbert Perkins & George Garratty Memorial Lecturers

2016 - Jeffery McCullough, MD

2017 Pearl Troy, MD

2018 Steven Kleinman, MD

2019 Lou Katz, MD

2020 Paul Holland, MD


Herbert Perkins Scientific Lecturers

2009 James C. Zimring, MD, PhD

2010 Susan L. Stramer, PhD

2011 Sherrill J. Slichter, MD

2012 Harvey J. Alter, MD, MACP

2013 Paul M. Ness, MD

2014 George Garratty, PhD, FRCPath

2015 Lawrence Petz, MD


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal